What I Learned From My 20s

A life snapshot and a note to anyone who is in your 20s

Pathairush Seeda
5 min readDec 11, 2022

Introduction

Photo by Anubhav Saxena on Unsplash

Hi everyone ✋🏼. I did write the content on Medium in late 2020; it has been two years since then. Most of my article is based on data application and technical stuff I have been working with, and I will keep writing about it and hope you enjoy my article in the near future.

However, for today's article, I decided to publish my thoughts about what I also did outside working hours. It's another part of my life; I should write it down here to remind my future self about it.

I recently looked back to what I did in the past through social network reminders like Facebook, which makes me feel nostalgic for my life. It reminded me about what I had gone through, how childish I was then, and why I decided to do some stupid kinds of stuff.

At that time, the future path of myself is so unclear and blurred. I don't know what to expect and what to do in the next five to ten years. Surprisingly, after living through that part, that blurry picture in my mind keeps improving as I live on for another day.

Ultimately, it all boils down to the only single word "experience". The thing I experienced in the past made me grow up more uniquely. That experience creates a new option for me. It affects the way I decide things in life. What kind of options will make me happier? So that I'm a bit wiser as I grow up.

Happiness

Photo by Keegan Houser on Unsplash

Firstly, I recently got the reason for my current life (I don't have a clear one until I turn to 30s). It's to seek happiness and flourish. I currently really believe that your satisfaction is what truly matters most. Anything that makes you feel comfortable or unhappy needs to be resolved.

You can’t control many uncertain things in life; the easiest way is to change yourself.

You are the only one who is responsible for your self-happiness. No one can lift your mood on the darkest day except you.

Foolishly, I blindly expect the world to adjust to me. Still, through my 20s, I would say it's easier to let that expectation go (this is certainly easier said than done, and it took me many years to adapt to this philosophy) and focus only on yourself.

When you are happy because of others' actions, it's a trap that you may rely too much on the factor you can't control. Reducing that kind of happiness improves my overall mood and leads to more flexibility.

Another thing is always making yourself an option and not locking yourself in the self-made constraint. For example, the self-made limitation is like the debt you make for short-term happiness, forcing you to do something you may not like in the long run. So keep getting away or considerate carefully before applying one.

Freedom is more expensive than you would think.

Wealthy

Photo by Guilherme Stecanella on Unsplash

Secondly, we live in a world of capitalization, and money is the only thing that can make your living more comfortable and pleasant. The perspective about this kind of thing depends on how much your expectation is. There is no correct answer. Everyone has their explanation for it.

What I learned is that you have to find when it’s enough.

It's another hard thing to estimate what is enough for you to live the rest of your life or your current life with a good thing you think you need it.

But when you reach that point, it's like you find the peace of your life. The way you think about how to find the money will change drastically. You may not want to spend all the effort gathering the cash and want to do things you are enjoying and leave all the corporate competition out of the picture.

After finding what is enough, the next step is more straightforward because you need to set up the plan and enjoy the journey. Your financial life should be simple and consistent.

  • Keep saving and investing. It would be great if you could start young.
  • Building the pile of assets instead of debt.
  • Living frugally gradually increases the quality of life later.
  • Finding a way to gather money is more important than saving money.

Healthy

Photo by Grace Weltch on Unsplash

Another left-out aspect of life in my 20s. It's hard for you to care about your health when you are in the prime moment of your life. But, as you grow up, your body keeps getting deteriorated.

There are a lot of things you can't do when you are already injured or ill.

The prime example would be health insurance. The most practical suggestion here is to have it when you are young and strong. The second thing would be to start exercising (like everyone always said, but no execution).

  • Running, Cycling and Swimming are the best starter kits.
  • Yoga and stretching are excellent complementary.
  • Four hours a week is good enough for your health. Beyond that may be too much for your health in the long run.

Final thought

Photo by Yuyeung Lau on Unsplash

As you grow older, you meet a lot of grieving moments. It reminded you that life is not easy to predict, and you may never know what the last time of your life will be.

Living it while you can is another thing you should take into account. Balancing your current happiness and future plan is another tricky thing you must figure out.

I hope my younger self understands this topic sooner, but I also comprehend why my younger self would not care about those topics. Life would be easier if I experienced everything and could go back in time.

Pathairush Seeda

If you like my work and want to support me, become a membership

--

--